Layout Process: Los Pollos Hermanos

For my first post on this blog I’m going to share my process for creating a 12×12 layout that will be part of my road trip travel album.

This layout is from a self-guided “Breaking Bad” TV show tour I did with my fiancee a few months ago when we passed through New Mexico for our road trip to Texas.  For those who aren’t familiar with the show, the series ended earlier this year and had somewhat of a cult following.  I only watched a few episodes, but my fiancee followed the series ever since the beginning.  His only request for our entire trip was this little tour!  From the small doses I’ve seen, it’s evident the show is definitely not for the faint of heart….a lot of violence, drugs, etc.  To capture the personality of the show, all the layouts I made for these events have a grungier feel than my normal style.

Breaking Bad

The photo I’m using isn’t the best quality since the lighting was off and I used my phone.  It’s the only photo I have at this particular location, though, so I’m just going to use it anyways.  I used one of the built-in filters on the iPhone 5 when taking this photo.  I believe it was the “Transfer” filter.

I chose the “Collectible” patterned paper from Maggie Holmes for Crate Paper “Flea Market” line because I liked how the bold yellow diagonal stripes complemented the yellow in the photo.  I used white gesso over a polka dot Crafter’s Studio stencil.  The stencil is only about 6×6 in dimension, so I had to stencil three separate times to adequately cover the page.  I heat dried and cleaned the stencil between each new application of gesso.  I then splattered three colors of mists mostly diagonally across the page (Studio Calico “Warm Calico”, Studio Calico “Leaf Green”, October Afternoon “Rotary Phone”).

Gesso & Mists

Background

To add depth to the photo, I used two 4×6 cut apart cards from Simple Stories’ “24/7″ line.  I had already used another element from that paper, so it was technically a scrap I had lying around.  For embellishment, I chose several die cuts from the Ephemera Pack of the same Maggie Holmes collection and layered them down a line behind the photo.  I inked the edges with Hero Arts’ “Charcoal” mid -tone chalk ink on all the papers and embellishments before adhering them to enhance the grungy look.

Ink

I added the the letter stickers and journaling next.  I added grayish black coloring to the white Thickers using the same Charcoal ink and a wet paintbrush.  The letters used are American Crafts “Roster” DIY Thickers and Jenni Bowlin Studio’s “Grey Skinny Alpha”.  I finished the page off with a few strips of a grey chevron washi tape, a bit more misting at the bottom of the embellishment cluster, and three small triangle stickers from Carta Bella’s “Wild & Free” collection and called it done!

Final Layout

Leave a Reply

