Sketch Layout: French Fry Heaven (Citrus Twist Kits)

I’ve been subscribing to the Citrus Twist Kit Club for over a year now and have really enjoyed all the things that come in the kits.  I only get the Main scrapbook kit and find that each kit contains enough supplies to make at least 4 layouts with minimal stash additions.  Trina Craig, the owner of CTK, posts a sketch challenge every Sunday.  The winner of the challenge receives a $5 gift card to their store.  I’ve been trying to use my monthly kits to make layouts specifically for these challenges.  Click here for this week’s sketch.

This will be the second layout using my December CTK Main kit.  The first layout I made can be found in the CTK gallery here.  The original sketch has a sunburst design behind the photos, but I wasn’t really feeling sunburst-y at the moment so I went with a couple of paper layers instead.

Paper Layers

When I was satisfied with the placement of the papers and photos, I took them off the page and stapled them together so I won’t have to fuss with them again later.

Papers Stapled

Notice I stapled the patterned papers and the photo together.  I knew I was going to layer the second photo over this one so it wouldn’t show in the end anyways.  Two staples was all it took to keep everything together  🙂  Next, I worked on the background with some mists and stamping.  I was inspired by one of Anna-Maria Wolniak’s layouts where she repeatedly stamped a small image in different ink colors.  I chose three star-shaped clear stamps that came in previous CTK kits to do something similar but only using a couple of ink colors.

Star Background

To finish the layout, I glued the layers onto the background paper and added embellishments from the kit.  Here’s the final result:

French Fry Heaven

I actually made two mistakes during the layout process.  The first mistake was accidentally getting some roller adhesive on the right-hand side photo where the “YES!” die cut is.  I purposely put that die cut there to hide the mistake and created a tiny cluster around that area so it doesn’t look out of place.  The other mistake happened when I was trying to take off the “@” sticker next to the title.  The cork and underlying cardboard split as I was trying to remove it leaving only the cardboard backing.  I actually like the look of the plain cardboard so I left the “@” where it was without the cork veneer.  Just thought I’d share my clumsiness with the world and show that some accidents can be happy mistakes  🙂

All the supplies used on this layout was from the CTK December Main Kit or previous kits except the Bazzill white cardstock background, letter stickers, and Warm Calico Mister Huey’s.  Thanks for looking!

2 thoughts on “Sketch Layout: French Fry Heaven (Citrus Twist Kits)

  1. Great layout and am drooling over those fries! Thanks for sharing how you handled a couple of oops, I often wonder what others do when something unexpected happens. 🙂

Leave a Reply

