Sketch Layout: The Ultimate Cup (Studio Calico)

This sketch is from the Studio Calico blog.  The sketch has a sunburst design at the center behind the photo.  I actually find it a bit difficult using sunbursts because it’s such a bold element on a page.  I decided to give the sketch a go anyways….I do love a good challenge 🙂

The Ultimate CupWell, it’s been 4 months since moving into our new apartment, and I finally took out my watercolor paper from the packing box.  I wanted a more subtle “sunburst”, so I used three different shades of watercolors mixed with gesso to create the pattern.  I then dry painted a small amount gesso over the top to soften the look even more.   I love how the Gold Lame Heidi Swapp mist droplets kind of looks like coffee splatters.

 

11 thoughts on “Sketch Layout: The Ultimate Cup (Studio Calico)

Leave a Reply

