Sketchy Saturday

I managed to squeeze out 3 sketch layouts this past week despite being busier than usual 🙂  I used sketches from Citrus Twist Kits, Studio Calico, and Life. Paper. Scrapbook.  I made the Citrus Twist Kits layout this past Monday when it unexpectedly snowed (again!) in Dallas.  It was my first official snow day EVER, and I loved it!  If there weren’t so many car accidents, I would want more snow days just for hibernation purposes.  I felt like I was playing hooky from school even though I was given permission to stay home.

The sketch from CTK can be found here, and here’s my interpretation:

Kensington PalaceEverything on the layout is from the February Main Kit except the letter stickers (OA Flash Alpha in Meringue) and mists (OA Sprinklers in Carbon Copy and Token).  I love the lace trim that came in the kit.  The buttons were also fun to use since I don’t embellish with buttons very often.  The photo is the outer facade of Kensington Palace in London.  We decided to visit the museum on a whim as we walked by while touring the Kensington Gardens.  The Palace was home to many members of the Royal Family including Princess Diana.  There was an exhibit with several of the Princess’ gowns and other outfits when we visited.

The second layout, using this Studio Calico sketch, is about the Tower Bridge.  It’s one of the most beautifully ornate bridges I have laid eyes on.  I love the blues and gold that color the bridge.

Tower BridgeThe paper on the left and also fussy cut under the title is from Chic Tags.  All the vellum elements are from Studio Calico.  The enamel dots are from various lines including Twine + Ink, Freckled Fawn, and My Mind’s Eye.  I love the mix of colors and sizes of the dots scattered across the page 🙂  The hearts are stamped using a Lawn Fawn clear stamp set.  The background paper is from Dear Lizzy “Lucky Charm”.

The March Sketch Challenge from Life. Paper. Scrapbook is sponsored by Scrapbook Circle which is a kit club I considered joining before deciding on CTK instead.  The photo is another from London and was taken at the Tower of London–one of my favorite tours from the entire vacation.

Our Funny YeomanThere is so much history that took place at this castle…a lot of it quite gory.  It’s also home to the Crown Jewels which are magnificently displayed throughout several rooms and halls.  I’ve never seen so many large diamonds and other gems in one place before!  The title is in reference to our tour guide (or “yeoman”) who kept our entire tour group of 50+ people entertained with joke after joke.  He definitely made the tour worthwhile!

7 thoughts on “Sketchy Saturday

Leave a Reply

